Extreme Weight Loss Challenge: Weeks 5-6

I’m going to start consolidating these posts since a big part of the adjustment process is over. I had more to talk about each week in the beginning. Now that I’m adapting to these changes, it’s gotten a little easier.

I’m still plugging along with the weight loss, slowly but surely. I keep reminding myself that it’s a slow process and to keep my eye on the end result. It would be fantastic if this weight came off quickly, but I’m better off going the gradual route.

See, my plan doesn’t consist of severe, drastic changes to my diet or lifestyle. If I ate only 1500 calories (to me, that’s low) per day plus pushed myself in my workouts, I’d burn out fast. That kind of program isn’t one I’d stick with, either now or once I lose the weight. So I’m making it a gradual process.

How did I do during Thanksgiving weekend? I admit, I made up my mind beforehand to take some pressure off myself and strive to simply maintain my weight. It was nice to indulge, but I still felt the effects of the junk food on my body. My mind wasn’t as sharp and I didn’t have my usual energy. I don’t want that sluggish feeling to be the norm ever again.

Another change I’ve observed these past two weeks is with my body’s circadian rhythms. Exercising consistently regulates so much in my body. By “regular,” I don’t just mean that in a TMI kind of way. For instance, I’ve been going to bed earlier and waking up earlier—especially on the weekends. That is both a blessing and a curse, when you love sleeping in. But it is nice to get more done by waking up earlier.

I tried two more workout classes during the last two weeks. One sucked and was probably the worst class I’ve ever done. Poor instruction, the trainer had no headset… my type-A personality side was going nuts. Thankfully, I knew how to adapt and make the workout count… and thankfully the workout itself was challenging.

The other class I tried balanced out the suckiness of the other. Remember the Even Steven reference in Seinfeld? I totally felt that way. This class was a cardio/tone class (same concept as the other). The instructor was friendly, had unusual but great music, plus I learned some new exercises. It was challenging for me, since it was a lot of reps. I plan on going back next week to do it again. 🙂

That’s it! Not as much going on, but still some great observations on how positive these changes are for me. Be on the lookout soon for a post on one of my home workouts!

Thanks for visiting! Let’s stay connected!

Leave a comment