Extreme Weight Loss Challenge: Week 8

We had our second physical challenge Saturday. I was feeling much less anxious about it this month since it was a team challenge. I figured that was less pressure on myself to do well, since we’d all be pitching in to win. That didn’t change the fact I couldn’t get to sleep early enough. I may just have to get used to making it with 3-4 hour of sleep before each challenge.

This month’s physical challenge was called the Great Case Race. It involved unloading and reloading a pallet with cases of canned food. The food was then donated to a charity. We had two teams with about 20-25 people each. The first leg of the race was unloading the pallet, transporting it halfway around the gym’s track and reloading the pallet with the correct order. Each tier of cases was color coded, so we also had to reload the pallet accordingly.

Once that was completed correctly, we had to unload it again and race it back to the first pallet, reloading it in the correct order. When that was done correctly, the last leg of the race was to then load a semi-truck with our cases (in no order, thankfully).

Even though we didn’t win and it ended up being quite chaotic, I enjoyed it. It was tough and I liked that aspect of it. Next month’s challenge is at a local waterpark, so I’m very curious what that will entail!

The part about the challenge that really stood out to me was how much easier it was NOT carrying the case of cans. I calculated that each case weighed about 22 lbs. I looked it at from two aspects: how much harder it would be move around in life with an extra 22 lbs. and yet, how much easier it could be to move around with 22 less lbs.

Since I reset my eating habits, I am back on the weight loss wagon. The scale and I are friends again. I look forward to more progress!

Leave a comment