Week 1 of the Extreme Weight Loss Challenge: Defeated!

Week 1 Extreme Weight Loss Challenge The DIY Homegirl fitness health nutrition DIY

I feel a disclaimer may be necessary. With the weight loss challenge I joined, this past week has kept me very busy. Because this is still a new process for me and I’m reprogramming my mind/behaviors, I haven’t done much in blogland. If this last week is an indication of how the next 5 months will be, I won’t be able to blog or connect as much.

I could be wrong, but I just want to put that out there in case. It may just be temporary because I’m starting a new phase in my life and that once I adapt, I’ll have more time.

Now that that’s out of the way, how did the first week go?

Since last week, I have lost 4-1/2 pounds. I’m a little hesitant to celebrate all that loss since I’m sure some of that was water. Gotta love being a woman and dealing with bloating. 😉

Adapting to a new way of eating has been the biggest challenge this past week–and may continue to be for a while. I can really feel my body responding to all this change. It’s stress, but positive stress. I’ve been counting my calories by using the My Fitness Pal app, which is pretty helpful.

Aside from that, there hasn’t been anything exciting yet with this challenge. But next week starts the first class workout and the first physical challenge. The first physical challenge will be some sort of an obstacle course (I’m pretty sure there won’t be green slime involved). I’m nervous, but I am truly looking forward to pushing myself… and hopefully coming out in the top contestants.

As contestants, we don’t have to worry about elimination until January, when the weigh-ins and challenges become mandatory to stay in the game. But right now, these challenges & work-outs count as extra credit, which helps add to your score at the end. I will take as much extra credit as I can get!

My workouts last week were on point and challenging. Most days I work out at home, but I do look forward to the classes they have lined up for us.

I plan on blogging during this journey as I learn new things relating to weight loss and myself. I will also share a few DIY workouts I’ve created that can easily be done at home. I hope you’ll stay tuned!

Thanks for visiting! Let’s stay connected!

 

Leave a comment